Edinburgh Fringe Sustainable Practice Award shortlist announced

This article is from 2016

Edinburgh Fringe Sustainable Practice Award shortlist announced

Nominations for the 2016 prize have been announced by Creative Carbon Scotland and the Center for Sustainable Practice in the Arts

Creative Carbon Scotland and Center for Sustainable Practice in the Arts have just announced the shortlist for the Edinburgh Fringe Sustainable Practice Award 2016. The organisation received more applications that in any previous year. When deciding on the finalists, special consideration was given to productions' sustainability practice and / or themes in their work, with a particular emphasis on innovative design.

The 23 productions selected tackle a range of issues from homelessness and experiences of youth in a changing world to the impacts of climate change on people and their homes.

The shortlist is:

Adventures of a Redheaded Coffeeshop Girl – Rebecca Perry Productions, Gilded Balloon Teviot
Allison After a Fire – Colorado Underground, Greenside @ Infirmary Street
Are We Stronger Than Winston? – VOU Fiji Dance, Greenside @ Nicolson Square
Bend in the River – Deep Water Theatre Collective, Greenside @ Nicolson Square
Bildraum – Atelier Bildraum, Summerhall
Bird – Sita Pieraccini in association with Feral Dance Base
Cold/Warm –So Be It, Pleasance Courtyard
Cosmic Fear or The Day Brad Pitt got Paranoia – Empty Deck, Bedlam Theatre
Delivery #16 – The Giftgiver Co-op Theatre, Arts Exchange
Eden – Less Theatre, theSpace @ Surgeon's Hall
Erin, Errol and the Earth Creatures – Modest Predicament, Scottish Storytelling Centre
Eurohouse – Nasi Voutsas and Bertrand Lesca, Summerhall
Generation Zero – Lamphouse Theatre, ZOO Southside
Keep the Kids Out! – Cabaret of Dangerous Ideas, Stand in the Square
One Day Moko – Portable Union/Gilded Balloon, Gilded Balloon Teviot
Ribbet Ribbet Croak – Moulded, Pleasance Courtyard
Sheltered – Bellyfeel Theatre, Paradise in the Vault
The Hours Before We Wake – Tremolo Theatre, Underbelly Cowgate
The Nine Lives of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry – Vagabond Productions, Assembly George Sq Studios
The Rooster Rebellion – Mariani-Oliver Company, theSpace on Niddry Street
The Story of Mr B – Shake Shake Theatre, Institut français d'Ecosse
Trashed – Bears & Vagabonds Productions, Lauriston Halls
World Without Us – Ontroerend Goed, Summerhall

The winner will be announced at 10.30am, Fri 26 Aug at Edinburgh's Festival Theatre.

The 2015 winner was Paines Plough for their production of Lungs, written by Duncan Macmillan.