Fringe Sustainable Practice Award longlist is revealed

This article is from 2015

Fringe Sustainable Practice Award longlist is revealed

2015's contenders includes Edinburgh shows by Paines Plough, the Citz and the HandleBards

The longlist for the Edinburgh Fringe Sustainable Practice Award 2015 has just been announced. The award recognises the shows at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe that do the most to raise the audience's awareness of, and responsibility for, their own environmental impact, and is run by the Los Angeles-based Center for Sustainable Practice in the Arts and Creative Carbon Scotland.

The winning show is announced on the final Friday of the Fringe. Last year's winners were The HandleBards, for their innovative bike-powered approach to performing Shakespeare, and in 2015 they've been nominated once again.

The 2015 longlist includes:

The Braw Buoys: A Cinema in South Georgia
Kompanie Greg McLaren: Atomkraft
CalArts Festival Theater: Bayou Blues
Edinburgh Traditional Building Forum: Calton Hill Geology Walk
FellSwoop Theatre: Current Location
Old Deerfield Productions: Frankenstein
Asylon Theatre: Fraxi Queen of the Forest
Lucy Grace: Garden
Martin Kiszko: Green Poems for a Blue Planet
Paines Plough: Lungs
3Bugs Fringe Theatre: Maiden – A Recycled Fairy Tale
Smoke and Mirrors Collaborative: Ndebele Funeral
Tropism: Photosynthesis
Citizens Theatre: Scarfed for Life
The Vaults: Sing For Your Life
Tim Spooner: The Assembly of Animals
Peculius: The HandleBards – Secret Shakespeare
Rust and Stardust: The Wild Man of Orford
Niamh Shaw: To Space
2Magpies Theatre: Ventoux
Emma Hall: We May Have To Choose

The winner is announced at Fringe Central, Appleton Tower, at 4pm on Fri 28 Aug.