Edinburgh International Book Festival: Highlights

Seamus Heaney, Michael Morpurgo, Irvine Welsh and Nile Rodgers amongst top names to chew the literary fat

comments

This article is from 2012.

Edinburgh International Book Festival: Highlights

At Charlotte Street Danny Wallace will unleash his same-named debut novel

Seamus Heaney

The Nobel prizewinner is in town for what will be an undoubted highlight of the month (if not the year) as he chews some literary fat with Karl Miller and Andrew O’Hagan.
3-18 Aug, 6.30pm, £10 (£8).

Michael Morpurgo

The ex-Children’s Laureate will be discussing the experience of witnessing the transformation of his books from the small page to the big screen.
3-17 Aug, 5pm, £4.50.

Danny Wallace

Dave Gorman’s former director of operations unleashes his debut novel on Charlotte Square. Rather conveniently entitled Charlotte Street. What are the chances?
3-18 Aug, 8.30pm, £10 (£8).

Irvine Welsh

For fans of Spud, Renton and co (can anyone be an actual fan of Begbie?), the publication of Skagboys is the book event of the year.
3-18 Aug, 9.30pm, £10 (£8).

Edinburgh World Writers Conference

Harking back to the legendary 1962 gathering, a host of top names discuss the same questions that were debated 50 years ago.
Various dates and times.

Nile Rodgers

The man who changed the face of pop (c/o his tunesmithery with Chic and Sister Sledge and producer duties with a who’s who of modern music) drops in for some chat about his memoir, Le Freak.
3-19 Aug, 9.30pm, £10 (£8).

Etgar Keret

He’s only gone and been dubbed by Salman Rushdie as ‘brilliant’ and by Clive James as ‘enchantingly witty’ so why wouldn’t you want to spend time with this Israeli writer?
3-16 Aug, 7pm, £7 (£5); 17 Aug, 7pm (£10 (£8).

Nikita Lalwani

Meet the creator of Ray Bhullar, the documentary-maker who sees the different sides of Indian life in a potent novel, The Village.
3-16 Aug, 3pm, £7 (£5).

Chic - Everybody Dance

Sister Sledge - We Are Family

This article is from 2012.

Masterclass with Nathan Englander & Etgar Keret: The Story Remains The Same

Etgar Keret’s Suddenly, a Knock on the Door is an ingenious and original collection of stories. Originally written in Hebrew, the stories’ translators included the author Nathan Englander whose own short story collection What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank is published this year. In this special event they…

The Edinburgh Writers' Conference 1962: The Legacy: Putting A Bomb Under Scottish Literature

The first Writers’ Conference, which took place in the McEwan Hall in August 1962, can be regarded as a seminal moment in Scotland’s literary renaissance. John Calder organised it with the assistance of Jim Haynes and today they discuss their memories of those five heady days. Eleanor Bell and Angela Bartie, heading up a…

Anjali Joseph & Nikita Lalwani: Writing Without Boundaries

Anjali Joseph joined us last year to discuss her multi-award-winning debut Saraswati Park. She returns with Another Country, a beautifully-observed novel which follows Leela on a journey through love and youth in Paris, London and Bombay. Nikita Lalwani’s The Village is a gripping modern morality tale set in India in…

Kevin Barry & Etgar Keret: Elevating The Short Form To Fresh Heights

Kevin Barry’s Dark Lies the Island is a collection of tales about a teenage goth on a terror mission, criminal OAPs, real-ale enthusiasts and occult weirdness in the backwoods. Etgar Keret’s Suddenly, a Knock on The Door is his first set of stories in a decade and offers absurdity, humour, longing and compassion, through…

Nile Rodgers: The Man Who Brought Us Disco

He may be best known for the disco hit Le Freak but Nile Rodgers’ influence on pop music has been so very much greater than that. Rodgers wrote and produced classics such as 'Like a Virgin' for Madonna, 'We Are Family' for Sister Sledge and David Bowie’s bestselling album Let’s Dance. He’s worked with Mick Jagger, Bob…

Michael Morpurgo

It’s been a crazy couple of years for Michael Morpurgo, following the success on stage and screen of his acclaimed novel War Horse. Come and hear Michael talk about his life, his work, Oscars and Spielberg. He also discusses Private Peaceful, the latest of his novels to be adapted and the process involved. Afterwards, you…

Irvine Welsh: Sunshine And Dark Days On Leith

Irvine Welsh’s Trainspotting trilogy is completed by a prequel, Skagboys, which shows us how Renton, Spud, Sick Boy and Begbie all hopped aboard the slow train to disaster. In Thatcher’s 1980s, there appears to be no room for our Leith boys. Poverty, AIDS, violence, political strife and hatred are never far from the…

Seamus Heaney, Karl Miller & Andrew O'Hagan: Friends Reunited

Karl Miller was literary critic of the Spectator and the New Statesman before launching the London Review of Books in 1979. His passion for the countryside recently led to a series of journeys through Scotland, Wales and Ireland with his friends, the poet Seamus Heaney and the novelist Andrew O'Hagan. Today they reunite…

Danny Wallace: Tayside Jester With Movie-friendly Debut

In his non-fiction work, he’s tried to start a new country and helped a comedy friend find as many of his namesakes as possible. Now Dundee-born Danny Wallace brings us his debut fiction, Charlotte Street, in which a man becomes obsessed with the images inside a discarded disposable camera. Does that sound filmic? It…

Elsewhere on the web

Comments

Post a comment