Kids events at the Edinburgh Book Festival

Some big names are rolled out for the final week


This article is from 2009.

Kids events at the Edinburgh Book Festival

With the final embers of the Book Festival starting to do that fading away thing, there are some sparkling treats to occupy the bairns with before Charlotte Square Gardens loses the tents. The Gruffalo’s Birthday (30 Aug) has writer Julia Donaldson and illustrator Axel Scheffler dropping by to celebrate ten years of the big guy who lurks in the woods to the mouse’s amazement. Danny Boyle collaborator Frank Cottrell Boyce (30 Aug) delivers some anecdotes and antics for fans of Millions and Cosmic while Daniel Postgate (31 Aug) keeps the iconic family name going with his own picture books such as the Smelly Bill series.

Former Children’s Laureate Michael Rosen (31 Aug) will entertain the masses in his own inimitable way with a couple of events including a Roald Dahl-themed hour while the Laureate count keeps coming with the current holder of the title Anthony Browne (29 Aug) holding court.

This article is from 2009.

Anthony Browne

Children's event: 5+ Anthony Browne's evocative illustrations and heart-warming stories have a universal appeal. A leading light in the world of children's books, this is one of his first appearances as our newly appointed Children's Laureate. Join one of Britain's most celebrated picture book artists for an…

Daniel Postgate

Children's event: AGE 3 - 6 Daniel Postgate creates distinctive picture books with engaging rhyming text. Son of the late Oliver Postgate, creator of The Clangers and Bagpuss, Daniel has a knack for writing wacky, irreverent stories all his own. Join him for a tour of his hilarious picture book world including the…

Frank Cottrell Boyce

Children's event: AGE 7+ Frank Cottrell Boyce is a unique talent. From Carnegie-winning Millions (now a Danny Boyle film) to his newest Cosmic, his heart-warming stories are always an entertaining ride. Join this masterful storyteller for anecdotes, antics and general good cheer.

Michael Rosen

Children's event: AGE 5 - 11 THE BIG ISSUE EVENT With his boundless energy and infectious enthusiasm, a morning spent in the presence of former Children's Laureate Michael Rosen is a very special treat indeed. His live readings are utterly captivating. Let him entertain you with his wacky humour and inventive…

The Gruffalo's Birthday with Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler

Children's event: 5+ THE BAILLIE GIFFORD EVENT Discover the splendidly monsterous Gruffalo all over again. The Gruffalo and all his friends are celebrating his 10th birthday with creators Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler. This interactive sing-along treat will get your toes tapping.


Post a comment