Edinburgh Festival If.comedy award shortlist announced

  • List.co.uk
  • 20 August 2008

This article is from 2008

If.comedy nominees 2008 announced

The Intelligent Finance Comedy Awards are the UK's premier comedy awards now in its 28th year. It is given for the most outstanding up-and-coming, funny, original comedy show at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

The nominees for the 2008 Intelligent Finance Comedy Award are:

  • David O'Doherty: Let's Comedy - review - interview
  • Kristen Schaal and Kurt Braunohler: Double Down Hearts - review
  • Rhod Gilbert and the Award Winning Mince Pie - review - video
  • Russell Kane: Gaping Flaws - review

The nominees for Intelligent Finance Best Newcomer are:

Nica Burns, the veteran producer/director of the Awards says: "In a year where a number of shows made it to the final animated discussion the four nominees presented shows which combined outstanding material and performance in a shortlist which offers something comedic for everyone: David O'Doherty's effortless charm with song, Americans Kristen and Kurt's utterly quirky and unique double-act, Welshman Rhod Gilbert, whose perfectly structured, gag-packed show has moved him into a new league and livewire stand-up Russell Kane's brilliantly energetic celebration of family, relationships and life's imperfections."

The prize is £8,000 plus headlining The Intelligent Finance Comedy Award shows in London's West End with the Intelligent Finance Comedy Award shortlist.

The 2008 if.comedy awards was judged by a distinguished panel of journalists, radio and television producers plus members of the public who won competitions in Time Out and The Times. Chair of the 2008 judging panel is Bruce Dessau – Comedy Critic of the London Evening Standard. The panel for 2008 is Tim Arthur - Comedy Editor, Time Out Magazine, Julian Hall – Comedy Critic for The Independent and Author of The Rough Guide to British Cult Comedy, Victoria Payne - Deputy Editor of Comedy Entertainment, TalkbackThames, Karen Rosie - Producer, BBC TV Comedy, Paul Schlesinger - Head of Radio Comedy, BBC, Jonathan Trew - Freelance Journalist, Rosanna Bond - Times Winner, Alison Leitch - Times Winner and Jude Stone - Time Out Winner.