Nominees announced for the 2018 Edinburgh Comedy Awards

This article is from 2018

Nominees announced for the 2018 Edinburgh Comedy Awards

Felicity Ward / Philip Gatward

Ahir Shah, Felicity Ward, Alex Edelman, Olga Koch, Rose Matafeo and Sindhu Vee are among the contenders

The Best Show and Best Newcomer nominees for the 2018 Edinburgh Comedy Awards have been announced. This year's Best Comedy Show shortlist sees the return of former award winner Alex Edelman making the cut alongside nominee for the second year in a row, Ahir Shah. As for the Best Newcomer shortlist, 2018 has become a milestone year for the award as female stand-ups make up the majority of the list for the first time in the history of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards.

Speaking of this year's shortlists Nica Burns, Director of the Awards, said: 'A truly international shortlist of extremely talented funny comedians for Best Comedy Show, with female stand-ups dominating an outstanding Best Newcomer shortlist for the first time in the history of the awards.

'Between them, they cover every aspect of contemporary life from: why Britain voted to stay in the EU in 1975 to family, personal relationships, love, sex in your 20s, gender and sexual identity, living with your in-laws and being the only Jew at a meeting of the far-right.'

The nominees for Best Comedy Show are:
Ahir Shah: Duffer
Alex Edelman: Just For Us
Felicity Ward: Busting a Nut
Glenn Moore: Glenn Glenn Glenn, How Do You Like It, How Do You Like It
Kieran Hodgson: '75
Larry Dean: Bampot
Rose Matafeo: Horndog

The nominees for Best Newcomer are:
Ciarán Dowd: Don Rodolfo
Maisie Adam: Vague
Olga Koch: Fight
Sara Barron: For Worse
Sarah Keyworth: Dark Horse
Sindhu Vee: Sandhog

The winners will be announced at a special lunchtime ceremony on Sat 25 Aug.